Thursday, June 11, 2015

The Masters of Solitude

The Masters of Solitude, is a 1978 science fiction novel written by Marvin Kaye and Parke Godwin. It initially appeared as a four-part serial in October 1977-May 1978 issues of the magazine Galileo, and was first published in book form in hardcover by Doubleday) in July 1978. A Science Fiction Book Club edition followed from the same publisher in November of the same year. The first paperback edition was from Avon Books in July 1979. The first British edition was from Magnum, also in 1979. Later paperback editions were issued by Bantam Books in 1985 (U.S.) and Orbit/Futura in 1986 (U.K.).[1]

The book is the first novel in what was apparently intended to be a trilogy of the same name. The second novel in the series is Wintermind, 1982. A third book by the same two authors, A Cold Blue Light, 1983, is sometimes listed as the third novel of the trilogy, but is unrelated. Unattributed comments indicate that the authors wrote a conclusion which their publisher declined to publish. A 12/24/12 post by Marvin Kaye on his official website, states, to the contrary, that "the final volume, "SINGER AMONG THE NIGHTINGALES," has at last been written! It's now in the hands of Parke's agent."

More here/

No comments:

Post a Comment