Sunday, September 04, 2011

Sense & Sensibility

Sense and Sensibility is a 1995 British drama film directed by Ang Lee. The screenplay by Emma Thompson is based on the 1811 novel of the same name by English author Jane Austen. The film stars Thompson and Kate Winslet as the Dashwood sisters, along with Hugh Grant and Alan Rickman.

Producer Lindsay Doran, a longtime admirerer of Austen's novel, hired Thompson to write the screenplay. The actress spent four years going through numerous revisions, as she worked on the script inbetween other films as well as into production of the film itself. Whilst initially intending for another actress to portray Elinor Dashwood, Lee convinced Thompson to undertake the part herself. Sense and Sensibility contributed to a resurgence in popularity for Austen's work, and led to many more film and television adaptations in the following years.

The film received overwhelmingly positive reviews upon release, and many awards and nominations. It was nominated for eleven British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA Awards), winning the top award BAFTA Award for Best Film, with Thompson and Winslet both winning the BAFTA Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role and the BAFTA Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role award, respectively. Thompson earned her second Academy Award, this time for Best Adapted Screenplay, making her the only person, as of 2011, to have won a writing Oscar and an acting Oscar (Thompson won the Best Actress award for Howards End, in 1993). The film was also nominated for six other Academy Awards, including the Academy Award for Best Picture.

More Here.

No comments:

Post a Comment